Qatar adds India and 5 other nations to its ‘exceptional travel red list’


In a recent travel update, Qatar has introduced an ‘exceptional travel red list’ which requires fully vaccinated people from India and five other nations to undergo a 2-day quarantine upon arrival in the country. The nation has also announced a complete ban on unvaccinated travellers coming from these six nations.

As per this list, fully vaccinated people from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, the Philippines, Nepal, and Egypt, with pre-approved and visa-on-arrival, will have to undergo two days of quarantine in a hotel upon arrival. Travellers will also have to take an RT-PCR test after arriving in Qatar within 72 hours followed by a rapid antigen test on the second day of the quarantine.

Qatar’s Ministry of Public Health made the announcement and also stated that unvaccinated travellers from these six countries won’t be allowed to enter Qatar. The change is effective January 30.

Other requirements to enter Qatar:

1) Non-residents of Qatar will need to register themselves via the pre-registration system for people entering the State of Qatar on the They’ll have to upload all the required documents on the website, such as vaccine certificates, at least three days before arrival.

2) RT-PCR test result will no longer be required during the electronic pre-registration process. But visitors will have to show a copy of the PCR test result to the airlines to board the plane.

3) Travellers will also be subjected to random testing on arrival.

4) The rapid antigen test should be taken from a Primary Health Care Corporation (PHCC) health center or private clinics/hospitals licensed by the Ministry of Public Health Qatar.

5) Travellers must download the Ehteraz application on their smartphones and activate it.

1 thought on “Qatar adds India and 5 other nations to its ‘exceptional travel red list’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *